Mr. Ronald Harford retires from the Board of Directors of Republic Bank Limited and Republic Financial Holdings Limited

Port-of-Spain, Trinidad: September 25, 2019: Mr. Ronald Frederick deCreeft Harford will retire from the Board of Directors of Republic Bank Limited and Republic Financial Holdings Limited on December 31, 2019, after an illustrious career of 57 years. Mr. Vincent Pereira, board member and President of BHP Trinidad and Tobago, is designated to replace Mr. Harford as Chairman of the Board of Directors of both companies in 2020.

Mr. Harford has been a stalwart in the organization, and his name and image have become synonymous with Republic Bank, the financial sector and the business community in Trinidad and Tobago. He has had an amazing career journey, starting from entry level and moving his way up through the organization to be its leader. At the helm he has guided the organization to a position where it’s now a global player in the finance industry.

Mr. Harford joined Barclays Bank Dominion Colonial & Overseas in 1963 on the post desk (mail room) at Independence Square. At various intervals in his career, he was assigned to several Caribbean countries in which Barclays Bank had a presence. In Trinidad and Tobago, Mr. Harford made his way up the ranks, assuming overall responsibility for the Information Technology Management Division, Human Resources, the Branch Network, the Foreign Exchange Operations and numerous other senior level positions.

In 1997, he was appointed Managing Director of Republic Bank Limited and led the transformation of the Bank from a primarily domestic institution to a global financial institution. In 2003, following the retirement of then Chairman, Frank Barsotti, he was appointed Chairman and so held the dual roles of Chairman and Managing Director. In 2005, Mr. Harford retired from his role as Managing Director, however, he remained Chairman of the Group.

Mr. Harford’s contribution to the development of the Republic Group and the financial system in the region is immeasurable. He was responsible for the establishment of Republic Bank (Cayman) Limited in 1992 and successfully led the merger of Bank of Commerce Trinidad and Tobago Limited with Republic Bank Limited in 1997. He also spearheaded the acquisition of the Group’s operations in Guyana, Barbados, Suriname, Ghana, the Cayman Islands as well as the intended purchase of the nine territories from ScotiaBank.

Milestone accomplishments for the financial system in country were the establishment of Info-Link Services Limited (now commonly known as the Linx system which facilitates the domestic payments system), the Credit Bureau, the Caribbean Information and Credit Rating Services Limited (Caricris) and the Bankers Association of Trinidad and Tobago.

In recognition for his meritorious contribution to banking and the business community in Trinidad and Tobago he was awarded the Chaconia Medal (Gold) on August 31, 2010. He was conferred an Honorary Doctor of Laws by the University of the West Indies, St. Augustine Campus and inducted into the Trinidad and Tobago Chamber of Industry and Commerce Hall of Fame, both in 2012. He is also a Fellow of the UK Chartered Institute of Bankers, the Institute of Banking of Trinidad and Tobago, and the Caribbean Association of Banking and Finance.

The Board of Directors, Executive Management Team and Staff of the Republic Group wish to express their deepest gratitude and appreciation for his sterling service.

September 25, 2019
Go to top