Puerto Rico beats T&T at 30th Annual Caribbean Amateur Junior Golf Championships

Port of Spain, Trinidad, July 14, 2017: The Trinidad and Tobago Junior Golfers secured a hard fought second place, edging the Dominican Republic by one point, but ultimately falling behind a dominant Puerto Rico team, at the 30th Annual Caribbean Amateur Junior Golf Championships that took place at the St. Andrews Golf Course from July 4-6.

The Puerto Rico team took to the greens with a mission, leading from start to finish, and eventually claimed their 10th consecutive title.

Team Trinidad and Tobago, however, did not leave empty handed. Led by Sachin Kumar, the Boys 18 and Under winner, and Yeji Lee, the Girls 15 and Under winner, the local juniors staged an impressive performance in a contest that featured the best in regional junior golf talent from across the region, including the Bahamas, the Cayman Islands, Barbados, Jamaica, Turks and Caicos, and the US Virgin Islands.

Kumar’s win, his second in the Boys’ 18 and Under Category, booked him a spot to compete in the Duke of York tournament scheduled for this September in England. Puerto Rico’s performance guaranteed them a spot to represent the Caribbean at next year’s Toyota World Junior Championships.

Speaking on the Bank’s commitment to Junior Golf, Republic Bank’s, Group Corporate Communications Manager, Tisha Lee, said, “Our eyes are as focussed on success much in the same way that our junior golfers, past and present, have been.

And like they have done, and will continue doing come tomorrow, Republic has every intention of achieving and building on that deep aspiration toward success – both on the course and off.”

As the official corporate sponsor of the National Junior Golf team, Republic Bank is pleased to have supported the Caribbean Amateur Junior Golf Championships; significantly investing in these and other sports empowerment initiatives through the years to further promote the game among young people in Trinidad and Tobago and throughout the region.

July 19, 2017
Go to top